article image

Did You Know? The Open Championship

With 154 years of competition, 14 different courses and thousands of golf’s greatest players, The Open Championship has a history unlike any other.

This year, the competition will be held at the Royal Liverpool Golf Club, often referred to as Hoylake, in northwest England. This is the twelfth time The Open Championship will be played there, the last time being 2006 when Tiger Woods took home the title. Woods will return this year, along with Keegan Bradley, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Graeme McDowell and many more of your favorite players.

See who claims the coveted Claret Jug on July 20th and in the meantime, test your knowledge with our trivia questions, courtesy of The Open Championship.

Claret Jug

However unique it may be, the Claret Jug is one of the most sought after trophies in golf and is awarded to the winner of The Open Championship. Photo by BBC Sport.

Which course has hosted The Open Championship more than any other?

St. Andrews: 27


Which course is the longest in Open history?

Carnoustie: 2007, 7,421 yards


Who overcame the largest deficit to win The Open?

After 18 holes: Harry Vardon, 1896, 11 strokes behind the leader

After 36 holes: George Duncan, 1920, 13 strokes behind the leader

After 54 holes: Paul Lawrie, 1999, 10 strokes behind the leader


Which competitor has the most top-five finishes?

J.H. Taylor, Jack Nicklaus, Harry Vardon, James Braid

Jack Nicklaus

Tied for the most top-five finishes in The Open Championship, Jack Nicklaus won the coveted Claret Jug in 1966, 1970 and 1978. Photo by BBC Sport

Who are the known youngest and oldest competitors ever to play in The Open?

Tommy Morris Jr.: 1865, 14 years 4 months 25 days

Tom Morris Sr.: 1896 74 years, 11 months, 24 days


Who won The Open by the biggest margin?

Tom Morris Sr.: 1862, 13 strokes


Whose victories have spanned three decades?

Harry Vardon: 1896, 1898 & 1899/ 1903/ 1911 & 1914

J.H Taylor: 1894 & 1895/1900 & 1909/ 1913

Gary Player: 1959/ 1968/ 1974


Who is the youngest winner of The Open Championship?

Tommy Morris Jr.: 1868, 17 years 5 months 3 days


Which player scored an albatross at Turnberry in 2009?

Paul Lawrie: 7th hole, 4th round

Photo by BBC Sport.

Paul Lawrie is one of only eight people to hit an albatross at The Open Championship and followed it with a win at Turnberry in 2009. Photo by BBC Sport

Which two players have scored hole-in-ones at the 7th hole at Muirfield since 1981?

Billy Andrade: 1987, 4th round

Paul McGinley: 1992, 1st round


Featured image of Royal Liverpool GC courtesy of Getty Images.

Leave a Reply